Baked Oreo Cheesecake – 奥利奥芝士蛋糕

_DSC8542_2
Skull Bat for the Halloween season!

I have some friends who really love their cheesy cheesecakes and the Japanese cotton/souffle light cheesecakes that I baked previously could barely satisfy half their cheesy desires. Since I’m having a little party at my place this week and my friends would be here, I thought it’s great to make them a luscious decadent baked Oreo Cheesecake. I did a bit of online search before shortlisting down to two recipes tried by BitterSweetSpicy and Bakericious. Their recipes were adapted by George Geary, a professional cheesecake baker and coach, and Alex Goh who is a popular chef based in Malaysia. I decided with George Geary’s recipe in the end because… the photos on her blog looks really inviting, no?

_DSC8580_1
still a little soft towards the cake center

Anyways, I decided to reduce the cream cheese to 570g (that’s about 30% reduction) as I felt that having 750g cream cheese in a single cake is just too rich. I felt even more so after personally feeling that the pistachio cheesecake (700g cream cheese) was a little too cheesy as well. Everything else in the recipe was kept constant. The mixture turns out a little thinner because of the reduction in cheese that acts as a thickener and I should have known to bake a little longer, but I didn’t. The cake was still jiggly in the middle after 50 minutes – just as what the recipe mentioned, but perhaps 10 more minutes in the oven would have set the cake better. The cheese flavor was prominent, texture was creamy and a little softer than expected, but not to the point of melting away upon contact with the fork. And since it was a birthday cake for myself and Halloween’s round the corner, I decided to liven it up with a tad of decoration – a layer of ganache, oreo crumbs, and a simple stenciling with icing sugar!

So, how did I fare? 🙂

_DSC8539_1

_DSC8550_1

Adapted from Bitter Sweet Spicy, Original recipe by George Geary from “125 Best Cheesecake Recipes”

For Crust:
1 1/4 cup chocolate sandwich cookie crumbs (I used 22 Oreo cookies with cream removed.)
1/4 cup (30g) unsalted butter, melted (I used 40g because it wasn’t cohesive enough yet)

Directions:

  1. Place the cookies in a plastic bag and crush them into fine crumbs using a rolling pin. In a medium bowl, combine cookie crumbs and butter with a fork. Press firmly onto the base of the cheesecake pan. (I used an 8in springform round pan)
  2. Set aside in the freezer to firm.

For Filling:
3 packages (each 8oz/250g) cream cheese, softened (I reduced to 570g because 750g is too rich for me)
1 cup (245g) sour cream (I used Marigold low-fat plain yogurt. Sour cream or yogurt reduces the heaviness of the cheese and creates a creamier texture. It is interchangeable in cheesecake recipes.)
3/4 cup (150g) granulated sugar
4 eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
4 chocolate sandwich cookies, quartered (I used 7 whole Oreo cookies, roughly chopped)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven at 350F (180C).
  2. Using an electrical mixer with paddle attachment, beat cream cheese on medium speed till smooth. Then, add in sugar and sour cream. Continue beating on medium high speed till well combined.
  3. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition.
  4. Add in vanilla extract.
  5. Fold in chopped cookies into the mixture.
  6. Pour batter over frozen crust. Bake in pre-heated oven for 45-55 minutes or until the top is light brown and the center is still slightly jiggly. (I baked for 50 minutes using steam-bath method. This is done by placing the cheesecake pan on a rack sitting above a tray 3/4 filled with boiling water. I used this method whenever I’m using springform pans to eradicate water seepage into the base. I also double wrapped the cake pan with aluminium foil.)
  7. Cool on a wire rack for 2 hours. Cover with plastic wrap & refrigerate for at least 6 hours before decorating or serving.
Pre-decoration
Pre-decoration

_DSC8563_1

_DSC8576_1

11
an opportunistic birthday cake for myself too!
Leave a Reply

