Granola & Chocolate Chips Cookies

_DSC7838_11
Granola cookies – half batch baked without added chocolate

During my recent trip to the UK, I took the opportunity to stock up a fair bit of my favourite brand of granola, Lizi’s. I lugged back 5 kg of granola that almost killed my baggage limit; but it was so worth it! Granola isn’t very readily available here in Singapore, with limited brands and varieties, and they’re almost sold at twice the price compared to the UK. Hence, I’m quite glad to have brought them back. Now that I have an excessive supply, I wanted a recipe that could use a large amount of granola at one shot – and what could be better than dumping a whole lot of it into a delicious cookie dough?

Since I do not fancy nor have white chocolates in my pantry, I decided to try half a batch without added chocolates at all. Both versions turned out great; but the ones with chocolate adds a little more variation in texture with the bitter gooeyness.

Adapted from Warm & Snug & Fat

Ingredients (yields about forty four 28g cookies):

460g plain flour
1tsp bicarbonate of soda
A pinch of salt
230g butter
230g soft light brown sugar
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
300g granola (I used Lizi’s Organic Granola)
150g white chocolate roughly chopped (I omitted white chocolate)
150g dark chocolate roughly chopped

Directions:
  1. Pre-heat oven to 180C. Line 2 baking trays with parchment sheet.
  2. Sieve flour, bicarbonate of soda and salt into a bowl. Set aside.
  3. Cream butter and sugar till creamy and soft. Add vanilla and egg, beat well, and mix in the flour mixture gradually till a dough is formed.
  4. Stir in granola and chopped chocolate with a spoon and mix uniformly.
  5. Scoop about 2 tablespoons of mixture out and roll into a ball with your hands. Place them, spaced out onto the baking tray. Flatten cookie slightly with hands or a fork and baked for about 10 minutes or a little longer until they begin to firm up. (I weigh out 28g for each cookie and baked them for 15 minutes as I like them crispier.)
  6. Remove baking tray from oven and cool completely, Store them in an air-tight container to retain crispiness.

A note from the author: If not cooking all the dough immediately, roll them into their portions and freeze. They will keep as well in the fridge for up to a week, well wrapped, so as not to take on any fridge smells. Any cooked and uneaten biscuits are fine in an airtight container for three or four days. (I find them to be still crispy and edible even after a week.)

_DSC7799

_DSC7824_1
Pre-baking
_DSC7855_1
the other half batch with dark chocolate
One thought on “Granola & Chocolate Chips Cookies

Leave a Reply

